Police Department

Miles City Police Department

For all Emergencies, DIAL 911

Non-Emergency Phone Numbers:
Dispatch (406) 232-3411
Police (406) 234-6273
Fax (406) 234-4270

Law Enforcement Special Olympics Torch Run of Montana, 2015
Law Enforcement Special Olympics Torch Run of Montana, 2015

The Miles City Police Department is budgeted for 16 full time sworn officers.  This includes the Chief of Police, two Captains, four Sergeants (one of which is the School Resource Officer) and nine patrol officers.  One of the Captains is also an ICAC (Internet Crimes Against Children) Officer.  The officers patrol the City with an approximate population of 8,500 people.  In addition, there is another 3,000 people that live within close proximity to town that regularly come into Miles City to work and do business.

The Miles City Police Department also operates the Custer/Garfield 911 Dispatch Center as well as Animal Control Services.  There are seven full time dispatchers including a dispatcher supervisor.

MCPD officers stay extremely busy with the activity of the oil boom that is occurring in Eastern Montana and Western North Dakota.  Calls for service have steadily increased for the last several years as has felony case investigations.


Chief Doug Colombik
Captain Mark Reddick
Captain Casey Prell
Lieutenant Detective Dan Baker
Sergeant Steve Fenner
Sergeant Kord Merical
Sergeant Mike Willems
Officer Denise Bontrager
Officer Chris Fetty
Officer Dustin Sloan
Officer Myles Connelly
Officer Travis Atkinson
Officer Coy Sheets
Officer Justin Qualley
Officer Clay Bott


Dispatcher Heather Roos
Dispatcher LaRae Tangen
Dispatcher Jean Mansheim
Dispatcher Andrew Merical

Police Commission Agenda and Minutes

Police Commission Meeting Agenda 2015 0122

Police Commission Meeting Agenda 2014 0314